Who moved my cheese?

I don’t often write about things like this but I have come to the conclusion that if my cheese (a metaphor obviously) had been moved decades ago, where would I be today, what would I be doing?. I have often wondered about the “destiny” clause in our lives, that if one thing is out of place or if a wrong turn is made, our lives are forever changed and that path has been turned on , is one that we must continue to walk, run, ride, skate…

I started looking back over the last 5 years of my life, the birth of my first son, and the extreme joy it brought us that after so many years of trying, God finally said, “Yeah, ok, you’re ready to be a Parent finally…”

Full disclosure now, I was a first time parent while my classmates are becoming Grandparents.. then the birth of our second son and the extreme joy he is bringing to my life.

Where would I be had I not given a yellow rose and a kiss to my best friend some 17 years ago?.. I really, truly believe that I would not be writing this now, I would be writing about dog poop on my car, or how drunk the guys were at the bar last night..

Instead, I can write about how my 8 month old smiles at everyone he meets, how he looks EXACTLY like his mother, or how my soon to be 5 year old loves pajamas, Superheros, and Mac-N-Cheese , Aunt Gun, and Gramma’s.

This slight movement in my “cheese” has provided my life with smiles, trials, new found impatience, and oh, yes, poopy diapers,, see how I  did that and worked that into my observation..

Leave a Reply

