Writing to Write

The second I wrote the title to this blog post, I got a warm fuzzy.. I have found that writing not only relieves stress, it helps me work out things in my mind that just cloud and clutter it up.. For instance, I’ve been challenged by a well known radio host in the Kansas City market to lose 50lbs, now while that sounds like a lot of weight, it really isn’t and I’m sure I’ll be up to the task, but that means no sugar, omg, what? no sugar, no pastry, no candy bars, no milkshakes, no cookies, oh for cryin out loud, does this mean no sugar in my coffee or tea?.. yes, yes it does..

Ok, well now I’m ready, I’ve gotten day 2 of no sugar started, and I’m doing well, temptation is a quirky thing, I know where the chocolate is, I just choose not to eat it.. the cravings are incredible, it’s like when I quit smoking 10 years ago, it was brutal the first few months, but I got used to not smelling like shit and I am all the better for it.

The hard part will be the exercise, now I’ve got these cool apps on my phone, one for walking, it counts your steps and berates you if you don’t meet your goals by shocking you with a taser like weapon, how the phone does that is amazing, the second is a 7 minute workout app, that shows you the exercise, the length is 30 seconds for as many as you can do, then it counts down, if you don’t move into the next exercise, it takes a picture of you and posts it anonymously on social interwebs to make fun of you for not being able to do a push up.. I think I’m gonna do just fine, when you get to a certain point in age, you start worrying about crap like this, I mean, for decades I really didn’t give a crap, but now it takes longer to shed the weight than it did when I was in my 20’s and 30’s, and I really really want to lose the moobs

Leave a Reply

